PDA

View Full Version : De-icing LHR

too_sleepy
6th Feb 2012, 09:52
Hi
Hope I've got the right forum. We were in LHR on Saturday night, one of the lucky to get out. ATC were great as usual and asked all callers for a holdover time. Assume this was to coordinate traffic so no one got stuck on the taxiway needing another de-ice.
Well, one crew called for clearance, and responded to the holdover question with "we have no holdover time, we don't need de-icing".
I'm new to flying but I couldn't figure how anyone would think they didn't need de-icing. It was -1 and light snow. This was about 20:00 and weather was getting worse.
I kept thinking it weird that there's nothing anyone else could do to stop them, they got a clearance and assume left shortly after we did.

Am I missing something? Or was it just plain ignorance and stupidity?

Thanks

sleeper
6th Feb 2012, 12:01
Do you know what type of aircraft and airline it was?

All the type's I flew are not allowed to depart with any contamination on the upper wing surface.

gonnabe
9th Feb 2012, 18:19
There will always be hot shots that have made up their own theories about how much ice/snow their plane can take. Usually from less serious airlines.

Mad (Flt) Scientist
10th Feb 2012, 13:23
@too_sleepy

Since this occurred at LHR can I suggest you file a CHIRP (http://www.chirp.co.uk/index.asp) report? It won't be used for disciplinary purposes, but it may stop it happening again; the fact that this crew got away with it once is no guarantee they'll do so again, never mind the fact that what they did is almost certainly a violation of the relevant operational regs.

@sleeper