PDA

View Full Version : Definition of cloud layer

EliasFransen
22nd Jan 2012, 11:34
Hello Gentlemen

I am currently studying for my CPL, and I came into a discussion with a couple of my classmates.

The definition of the cloud layer Overcast, is it 7-8/8 or just 8/8. As far as I remember from the Meteorology it is just 8/8, however as we checked this in the Swedish regulations for private flying, it states that it is 7-8/8.

We then called our METOFFICE, she was a little unsure, but then checked their definitions, which stated 8/8, but as I said, she was quite unsure.

We then called the Swedish Flight Planning Centre. The lady there was sure it was 7-8/8, but after checking in their papers, wich stated 8/8, she was also unsure.

We then called our local ATS unit, he was sure it was 8/8, according to some EU-policy or something.

We now have this problem, as the regulation states 7-8/8, shall we follow this, or wich one is correct?

Grateful for all replies
Elias

Glamdring
22nd Jan 2012, 11:45
From what I was taught...

0 = Sky Clear
1-2 = Few
3-4 = Scattered
5-7 = Broken
8 = Overcast

Spitoon
22nd Jan 2012, 12:50
The rules in the UK (which implement international Standards) areThe cloud amount can be expressed as:
a) FEW no more than quarter cover (1-2 oktas)
b) SCT over ¼ but no more than ½ cover (3-4 oktas)
c) BKN over half but not complete cover (5-7 oktas)
d) OVC complete cover (8 oktas)

EliasFransen
22nd Jan 2012, 21:28
Thank you very much for your replies. I agree with you that it most probably is correct with 8/8. The thing that bothers me is that the regulation says 7-8, and I guess I'll have to follow that lead until I've confirmed that there is a typo in that document.. But anyhows, thanks again for your answers!

OMGisThatJohn
25th Jan 2012, 17:43
I'm not sure, but maybe the intended use is that between 7 and 8 is OVC.

"7 < Overcast <= 8" For clarification.

AIRFLO
25th Jan 2012, 21:15