PDA

View Full Version : Learning to fly in Scotland

Richard PPL
28th Dec 2011, 18:31
Hi All,

I have just joined this forum as I plan to learn to fly during 2012.

Being a newbie I will no doubt have loads of silly questions that I'll ask during this journey.

I'm looking at going for the PPL and as I live in central Scotland I have been looking at three options. Glasgow, Edinburgh, & Cumbernauld. Anyone on here have any experience of any of these? That could give some recommendations.

Also how long does it take "the average" person to achive there PPL? I know the requirements are 45 hours, but how long does it take.

I work abroard so therefore I'm home for 2-3 months blocks at a time, is it possible to squeeze it in during a leave period or two??

Finally the medical requirements? Can anyone point me in the right direction for what the actual requirements are? I'm currently overweight!!! (not just because of the Christmas dinner!) and working on getting it down.

Anyway thanks for reading this and looking forward to commencing this!

Cheers
Richard

Dan the weegie
28th Dec 2011, 21:07
There are no "bad" schools that I'm aware of in Scotland so you'll be fine wherever you choose to fly, Edinburgh and Glasgow are more expensive and they will also have some limitations in training due to being at the busy airports. Cumbernauld is likely more expensive than Fife (Glenrothes) or Perth but you should take in to account the travel costs of getting there :). Personally having lived in Glasgow and Edinburgh and learned to fly in Glenrothes, I would go to Cumbernauld it's closer :) and will be a fair bit cheaper than Glasgow/Edin