PDA

View Full Version : PPL in the North-West - Options?

JDA2012
11th Dec 2011, 23:04
Hi all - as you can see, I'm very new here, though please note that I have done a lot of reading both on this site and others to try and make that my initial questions are not too stupid :O

I am, as I suppose all complete newbies must be, looking to obtain my PPL. This will be with a view to moving onto a CPL and hopefully eventually an ATPL (the ultimate goals being A) enjoying the simple joy of flying while B) making a living comparable with my current career and C) logging jet PIC time, which would seem to obscenely expensive outside of an airline).

I'm aware of the options to do the whole shebang as an integrated course (and the debate around this), as well as various sponsorship schemes, but right now none of these appear to be open, and I don't have the money to pay for such a course up-front whilst taking 18 months off work. Spreading it out to an average of £1k/month over around 3 years is quite possible though, so whilst I await a better option that is what I intend to do.

I am at this point rather regretting not taking the opportunity to join the RAF as a pilot back in 2002 - I had LASEK at this time (given the initial -3.25 prescription and 9 years with no problems I do not suppose this is a problem for the medical) and the employer with whom I took work to fund the operation offered me a better job with much better money, so I basically sold out and am now far too old for that route. :ugh:

I've looked at doing an FAA-PPL in Florida, but this seems not to be a good choice, both generally due to procedural differences and specifically given my situation. Given that, I have looked for courses available locally (to Manchester) and have come up with the following - I am aware that I would be well advised to get my Class I medical done at LGW before spending any cash!