PDA

View Full Version : Running your own Aeroplane?

Snigs
11th Dec 2001, 01:14
I passed my initial IRT the day before the 11th September! Bad timing perhaps, but I am mindful that I still have a life to live, unlike many a poor sole in New York and Washington. Still, this horrendous terrorism left me in an unfortunate position.

Fortunately, I returned to my old job to generate some income whilst humankind settled itself into the new world order. I am desperate to fly for a living (as are most who complete the CPL/IR training) so I started thinking about how I could do this with my experience and in the current employment climate.

I recently saw the MD’s secretary searching through the press/web for cheap flights for the management to visit the company’s European offices. Well, I suggested to the MD that if the company owned or leased its own aircraft it could be cheaper, (especially if I flew it!!) than flying on scheduled flights, certainly in terms of time and convenience. He asked me to put together a business case to see if it was a viable proposition.

I think I have found a suitable aircraft for the company’s requirements (Cessna 310), that the current owners may sell or sell a half share in. I am a complete beginner when it comes to running/leasing aircraft and I haven’t a clue (yet) what I should be asking this guy about the aircraft.

I know that I should find out what engine and airframe hours the aircraft has got (but what’s the life of a 310?). I need to know the annual running costs, but how many hours a year do I need to fly to make it viable? Etc etc.

I know that this is a very ambiguous question, but anyone with any hints or tips on aircraft ownership and what I should be looking for or asking, then I would really appreciate your input!

twistedenginestarter
11th Dec 2001, 02:16