PDA

View Full Version : Earthing during refueling

GRpr
19th Apr 2001, 23:07
Apologies if the answer is glaringly obvious, but why do we earth aircraft when refuelling with avgas but happilly fill our cars at the petrol station without doing the same?

If anyone has the answer, rather than a theory, I would be grateful. I was asked this recently and was stumped. I know why we earth aircraft - the theory is straightforward; but why don't we earth cars?

CaptainSquelch
20th Apr 2001, 00:05
Unknowingly we do earth our car. There is a metal mesh in the hose, a bit like the shielding in a coax cable. This in earthed in the pumpunit, and on the other end connected to the dispenser. When refuelling you touch the carwith the metal of the dispenser et voila you are earthed.

Sq

Unwell_Raptor
20th Apr 2001, 00:43
When I was a student I worked in a pie factory for a while, and it was vitally important to earth the flour tanker before it pumped its cargo into the silo. Apparently flour is a greater explosion risk than petrol where static is concerned. At least that's what they told me!

GRpr
20th Apr 2001, 01:07
CaptainSquelch

Many thanks for the explanation of how earthing is accomplished at the petrol station. Do you have any idea why the fuel pipes for avgas refuelling don't employ the same system? Doesn't seem logical somehow!

Unwell_Raptor

Yes! Flour and grain!! I went to a lecture a few years ago on the static induced explosions in grain silos. Most impressive!!!!

kabz
20th Apr 2001, 19:36
Take a biscuit time. Make a hole in the side just big enough to run a (bunsen) tube through. Connect the tube to something in the tin that you can put flour in, and that will get blown out if you blow down the tube. An old tobacco pipe would probably work. Fill the pipe with flour, put a lit candle in the tin, and close the lid (not too tight). Wear safety glasses (just in case)

Blow down the tube... BANG!!

Tarmach
20th Apr 2001, 19:41