PDA

View Full Version : Commercial vs. Charter Airlines

wes
26th Nov 2000, 04:20
I was wandering if anybody had flown for a charter airline and a commercial airline? And if so, what would be your pro's and con's on the two companies. I am currently a student at a four year aeronautical university in the states and wanted to weigh my options. Any inside info would be excellent, thanks.
--Wes

Secret Squirrel
28th Nov 2000, 22:34
Hey, Wes. I think you mean Charter vs Scheduled as they are both commercial airlines.

I work for a scheduled airline but we do some charters. The charters we do are mainly ski charters and Blue Rinse Brigade, holiday charters.

The advantages with scheduled airlines are really the overall punctuality, the quality of the punters. We are less prone to slot delays (big ones at any rate); and our punters are mainly business travellers. Charter airlines tend to cater more for the holiday market and as such their customer base tends to be from further down the evolutionary ladder.

Of course we have our fair share of white trash pompous business types who think the airline owes them life itself simply because they paid for a ticket. There's also more night flying in charter airlines, mainly due to airport slots being scarce during the day. Usually the money is pretty good though and allowances too. You do get to fly good aircraft and they are easier to get into than the majors.

I suppose it's six of one, half a dozen of the other, really. Depends on what turns your cog.

AIRLIFT
29th Nov 2000, 18:46