PDA

View Full Version : with regard to "turn right **degrees"

mxwbuaa
21st Oct 2011, 07:07
hello ,when using " turn left (or right) **degrees" to vector an aircraft, can I direct the aircraft make a turn of less than 10 degrees? say ,5 degrees. I wonder if the pilot can execute this type of heading direction accurately.

ferris
21st Oct 2011, 07:26
The answers are; Yes, you can issue the instruction, and It depends. A modern airliner has highly accurate navigation systems, a light aircraft being buffeted by wind....well, sort of, but how would you know? It's groundspeed means that it will take a long time to find out.

Out of interest, why do you ask? Are you playing a game, a student, the director of Chinese air navigation?

mxwbuaa
21st Oct 2011, 08:15
hey ,guy, you are clever, i'm a radar control trainning instructor who never really controll the aircraft in real enviornment. thanks for your answer, are you a controller or a pilot?

BOAC
21st Oct 2011, 08:51
Old RAF story
ATC "XXX Turn right 1 degree"
XXX " I cannot fly to 1 degree!"
ATC "XXX turn right 5 degrees"
XXX "Right 5 degrees, XXX"
ATC "XX Turn left 4 degrees"
XXX "..........:mad::mad::mad:"

mxwbuaa
21st Oct 2011, 09:08
is it a real story?

HEATHROW DIRECTOR
21st Oct 2011, 09:09
In SRAs you'll find 3 degrees used quite a lot..

chevvron
21st Oct 2011, 09:20
When carrying out a Surveillance Radar Approach (SRA), it's normal to use 5 deg heading changes when the approach (a non-precision procedure) terminates at 2nm or less than 5 deg when the approach terminates at less than 2nm.

For an approach using Precision Approach Radar or PAR (which includes an electronic glidepath display), heading changes are usually 2 or 3 deg, however the British Royal Navy often use 1 deg heading changes (or certainly used to).