PDA

View Full Version : Navigation Exam

WILCO.XMG
8th Aug 2011, 14:18
Dear All.

Im booked in to do my Navigation exam on Wednesday and i am in a real pickle. I just dont get it. The whole book reads a pile of tosh (Jeremy Pratt).

Has anyone else had the same feelings trying to read through it and got any tips?

Its my last exam too so i just really want to get it done and dusted.

Please Help.

:{

pieceofcake
8th Aug 2011, 14:23
most of the exam is practical - so if you have planned flights during your practical flying then 90% of it will be a breeze. There are usually some radio nav bits at the end but a good way of prep for those is the Q&A book by the same author.

WILCO.XMG
8th Aug 2011, 14:31
I havent planned a flight yet?

This is my first time.

The African Dude
8th Aug 2011, 14:33
Sit down with a flying instructor and go through a few practice plans.
Don't write a navigation exam without navigating first! :)

bingofuel
8th Aug 2011, 14:34
The obvious solution is to talk to your Instructor.

It is not just a case of just passing an exam, it is acquiring the knowledge for a skill that is required to be a competent pilot.
Try to set your standards higher than the minimum required for an exam, the more you know, and the better you understand the subject, the better a pilot you will become.

pieceofcake
8th Aug 2011, 14:53
yeah gotta say I agree with SoCal - the book is pretty good - but more to the point the Nav exam will be real easy once you have done some nav actually flying. Have you done much flying yet?

WILCO.XMG
8th Aug 2011, 14:56
Ive done 20 hours as far as circuits.

No Nav.

Re the Nav book, i feel by a long way it has been the weakest of the set.

I have the basic use of the whizz wheel.

pieceofcake
8th Aug 2011, 15:02