PDA

View Full Version : icao english proficiency

errebi
7th Aug 2011, 19:52
Hello, does anyone know if I need to take ICAO level 4 test before my PPL training in USA? I'm a foreign student..

BackPacker
7th Aug 2011, 20:33
I would assume that the LPE test is included in the package deal, just like everything else. Normally as part of the FRTOL test. What does the school say about this?

errebi
7th Aug 2011, 20:55
they say that I can't flight without icao4..is it a general rule or a school's rule?

BackPacker
7th Aug 2011, 21:22
You can't fly as Pilot In Command and legally use the radio without LPE four. But you can fly as a student. I believe even solo.

HLJHLJ
8th Aug 2011, 05:01
Do they have a FRTOL test in USA? :confused:

flyingfemme
8th Aug 2011, 06:03
No.
English proficiency is "checked" by anybody who conducts an examination or flight review under the FARs. It has always been the case that no pilot is granted a US certificate unless they can speak, read, write and understand English - this predates the ICAO requirement and is embodied in the FARs.
There is no separate radio licence exam, it is implicit in the checkride. Anybody with a US certificate may apply for a radio licence (and must have one for flight outside the USA).
Buried deep in the FARs is a provision for suspension of your licence at a later date if your English is deemed to have fallen below the required standard. This can be as a result of a report filed by any instructor or flight medical examiner. Apparently the doctor who does your medical renewal is also supposed to check your language skills.
It would be wise to consult the school issuing your training visa/paperwork since they may have a requirement for foreign students.

patowalker
8th Aug 2011, 06:24
You might want to call
Plane English Aviation English Solutions (http://www.planeenglish.com/Plane%20English%20Info.html)

BackPacker
8th Aug 2011, 07:26
Do they have a FRTOL test in USA?