PDA

View Full Version : Airline recruitment

Jemima Puddleduck
31st Jul 2001, 16:52
I am currently a Military rotary pilot Officer with @1200 twin hours and young(ish). I am considering a career jump, but have yet to commit to taking my ATPL(A) or (H), and am wondering what the recruiting policy of the major airlines is. Are there any that will take me unqualified and sponsor me through the upgrade, and hours onto fixed wing. My dad was a BA Captain so I am fully aware or the niceties of licences etc, and am trying to seek a way of committing to employment PRIOR to a large commitment of my cash. Any tips, opinions (good or bad), direction and advice are sought.

Thanks for your advice in advance.

Wings
31st Jul 2001, 17:45
Dear Jemima,
I'm sorry to say that the type of financial support you're looking for is non existent. There were several scholorship type schemes set up, but without having the exams behind you the airlines won't look at you. Airlines that used to help included Air UK / KLM UK / Buzz or whatever they call themselves now, British World Airways and Singapore Airlines, but to my knowledge they all required a lot more in the way of commitment than you are offering at the moment.
Bottom line from the airlines's point of view, you want the airline to commit to giving you a job in (say) 12 months time when you have got your licence. Before you can borrow the money from a bank or whatever, they are going to want to see a letter from the prospective employer airline guaranteeing you employment and thus providing a way for you to repay the loan. If for what ever reason (economic downturn , war [think Gulf War & Air Europe] more competitor airlines oversupplying the market) the airline can't employ you in 12 months time, they would face possible legal action from you and / or your bank.