PDA

View Full Version : One Pilot One Voice

a330pilotcanada
13th May 2011, 16:44
Good Afternoon All:

I can not take credit for this as it comes from a posting from AvCanada on the current Air Canada/A.C.P.A. negotiations.

Who ever wrote it wrote well and this can most likely be applied to any other airline in the world.

My name is nobody. I am a pilot. I have one voice.

I report for flight duty and deliver my air plane full of passengers to their destination and 99.99% of the time they never give the experience a second thought. They walk into the arms of their loved ones or shake hands with their colleagues and continue on with their day. Never will they know about the thousand obstacles that got in their way of a safe arrival. Not one thought will be given to the challenges of a winter day operation where I am their last defence against an army of environmental, mechanical and corporate pressures placed on us.

Another uneventful flight, perfect. Perfect, except for the fact that we have done such an outstanding job of keeping our passengers safe that we have created a mindset among most that what we do is just ordinary. It is the furthest thing from ordinary, in fact it can be down right dangerous. Thankfully we have rules, regulations and laws that we as pilots use as tools in defence against these dangers and challenges. When these rule and regulations are not enough we use our years of experience and judgement. We are bright, intelligent people. We have among our ranks lawyers, Doctors, PhD's, university graduates, accountants. We have College diploma's, we are men and women who are dedicated to continuous learning, testing, and advancing our knowledge of our profession like no other profession around.