PDA

View Full Version : LHR approach question?

UKPPL
14th Nov 2001, 03:16
This may sound like a very 'stupid' question but as someone who lives in West London and works in central London I'm curious...

After the horrific happenings in Sept, for well known reasons there was no heavy commercial traffic over my house or work place for days. Which made me think, why do they have to anyway..?

I appreciate there has to be a proceedural approach into LHR but why does it involve (on 27) a route straight accross central London for many miles, the last 'x' miles of which are at low altitude with the gear down ie. Bloody noisy (and I'm a pilot who likes aircraft). As well as the noise and polution there is the obvious safety issue of if (when) something goes very wrong over central London, as it sadly will do one day (by the laws of statistics).

Before someone screams at me and says, it's so they can land on 27 at LHR you idiot! The LHR traffic managed without this approach route for quite a while after Sept 11th...

I'm certainly no NIMBY but can only wonder if LHR make the whole noise/polution/safety issue worse for themselves by this approach (??).

Feedback?

le loup garou
14th Nov 2001, 04:03
UKPPL, London is a pretty big city if we weren't flying over your house we would only fly over somebody else's. After Sept 11 we started being radar vectored onto a 5 mile final after being vectored over London anyway!

It is very important that aircraft have a stabilised approach therefore generally the more staight forward the better. This also means that the gear has to come down sufficiently early to achieve this (sorry about the noise).

London ATC are remarkable individuals who humble me every day, but I suspect that the added vectoring for each aircraft after 911 increased their workload considerably, aswell as inreasing conjestion in the holds.

Added to that how do you expect us to land on 27? :D :D

I hope that this answers your question.

Regards le loup garou