PDA

View Full Version : Dumb question

7212wing
15th Mar 2011, 17:17
I am a Be-1900c/d driver working for a small charter company (also a training pilot). Once in a while I am sent into airfields which are short. I was just wondering(dumb question) if it is possible to do a short field take off with 35° flap. The POH does not mention any flap settings. Only for training purpose. Can anybody help?

SNS3Guppy
15th Mar 2011, 17:31
7212Wing,

What flap settings are provided in your performance charts when describing the takeoff configuration to achieve a particular set of numbers? Use those.

Before you get too wild experimenting, think not just of your takeoff distance, but what you're going to do with an engine failure just after takeoff, with flaps extended, gear out, and slow. Then plan accordingly.

john_tullamarine
15th Mar 2011, 20:37
.. and, perhaps, think carefully about what your story might be to the enquiring legal folk during the investigation after the mishap ?

As a wise (and very skilful) pilot once observed to me when I made an adventuresome suggestion as a young and inexperienced F/O .. with reference to the legal considerations .. "not even worth our time thinking about it".

Different matter in extraordinary circumstances, perhaps .. but not for the routine day-in, day-out stuff.

MarkerInbound
15th Mar 2011, 21:02
As has been said many times, "Takeoffs are optional, landings are mandatory."

I can't see how you'd get yourself into a situation where you'd need to experiment on the takeoff. Beech wrote a very nice book saying what the aircraft can do.

7212wing
17th Mar 2011, 16:00
My intention was not at all, for experimenting. The Company Beech did all that for us. I was just wondering. Thank you I will stick to POH. After all it is my butt if something happens later!!!

7212wing
17th Mar 2011, 16:09