PDA

View Full Version : Contemplating a move to Canada

skysoarer
2nd Mar 2011, 17:49
You'll have to excuse the common theme for the title of my thread. I'm aware there are quite a few similar ones.

I am aware that there is quite a lot of recruitment going on in Canada for pilots, including Air Canada. I have friends in British Columbia (Vancouver, and on the Island) and every time I'm over there they suggest moving over. I can't help but agree. I'm UK born and bred, but at 31 if I'm going to move I need to get on with it or forget it. Thing is I just can't forget it.

In a nutshell I'm a UK unfrozen ATPL holder with around 2200 hrs total time, split between the Dash-8 Q400 and Emb145, working for a major regional airline. I'm still a first officer, but I have a command line-check assessment coming up ... but even then there's no chance of a command at my base for the near future. Other stuff I have behind me is an Software Engineering degree, lots and lots of gliding (sailplane) experience, model flying, and a trainee falconer (that's another story).

Are there any Brits here who have made the jump over to Canada for an airline job, and would be willing to get in contact? I'm more than aware of the problems and requirements for immigration.

I have all the normal means of getting in touch ... phone, email, skype, this forum, etc ... it would just be great to talk with someone who has done it more recently. I've also been trying to talk with a human being at Air Canada, but thus far unsuccessfully, to ask someone in HR if they've had past applicants from the UK. I'll keep trying of course.

Thank you in advance!

Sky

MarkJJ
3rd Mar 2011, 06:27
PM me mate

evansb
5th Mar 2011, 18:13
Sky, try placing your request on the forum avcanada.ca

Fingersmac
5th Mar 2011, 20:07
Job Requirements

To fly for Air Canada, pilots must meet certain basic requirements:

1000 hours of fixed wing flying time