PDA

View Full Version : UK NPPL to FAA CPL ?

this is my username
4th Feb 2011, 13:16
Hi Guys

I have lots of flying experience, but all of it on sub-ICAO aircraft / licences. I have been looking at the options for training for an FAA CPL/IR/ME (and yes, I do know about the approaching firestorm in Europe regarding those qualifications). I can't go down the JAA route as my eyesight isn't up to scratch, but hope I could qualify for an FAA CPL via the "demonstrated ability" route.

I have a relatively easy / inexpensive route available to me to qualify for the UK NPPL(M) and / or the NPPL SSEA and to gain flying experience on either licence. If I could go down that route it would not only limit cost but would also reduce the amount of time I would have to spend in the US.

I’ve been looking in FAR AIM but I have some questions which I hope someone may be able to help with: Is there a route for converting a UK NPPL SSEA to an FAA PPL? FAR AIM refers to recognition of licences issued by ICAO-contracting states, but not to recognition of sub-ICAO licences issued by an ICAO contracting state (eg the UK NPPL SSEA) so can it be done?

If there is no conversion route, does instruction in the UK count towards the minimum 20 hours required for issue of the FAA PPL?

On the CPL front: FAR AIM refers to aviation experience in “airplanes”. Would experience on a UK Microlight count? Or a UK Group A aircraft flown on an NPPL? (For US readers, a UK Microlight is not analogous to a US “Ultralight”, it’s more like an LSA)

Hope that makes some sort of sense – if it doesn’t I’m sure you will let me know.

VJW
4th Feb 2011, 16:22
Well basic answer is no.

You cannot get a picky back FAA PPL based on your non ICAO NPPL.

You'll need to do FAA PPL and work your way up!

B2N2
4th Feb 2011, 17:31
OK let's recap:

You cannot get a FAA "piggyback" PPL in acc. with 61.75 based on a NPPL since it is not an ICAO compliant license.

Training in the UK: