PDA

View Full Version : future of NATS

cptdivz
21st Jan 2011, 17:42
hello there folks ,

I am new to the whole ATC thing but I have done quite a bit of reading into the job. I'm doing a coursework on ATC and I have a few questions.

What is the maximum you can earn as an air traffic controller in the UK?

What is the near future looking like for ATC in general/ controllers (post 2013- 2020 period)

Is NATS going to be privatised and how will that affect Future controllers pay/conditions?

Will the ATC be replaced by computers within the next 20 years realistically?

(All questions in regards to UK industry)

I have been looking all over the net for the answers but cannot find exactly what i'm looking for. On the plus side doing so much research into ATC has perhaps opened up a new career avenue for myself in the future. Hope everyone is well:ok:!

Regards.

Not Long Now
21st Jan 2011, 17:59
About £100,000 at the moment.
Appears to be aiming towards monitoring rather than controlling, though at least 10 years away realistically, if not a lot more.
Yes if management/government get their way, expect reduced terms/conditions/numbers, lower pay rises.
Not completely but much heavier reliance, which is apparently great as long as they NEVER EVER go wrong. We'll see.
Still a great job, but more despite the 'system' rather than because of it.

cptdivz
21st Jan 2011, 18:02
Cheers for the reply. Anyone else?

Also, how long would it take to reach 100k if you play your cards right. I'm sure its very different compared to airline pilots.

regards.

Not Long Now
21st Jan 2011, 18:55
From day 1 at college, approx 14 years I think

cptdivz
21st Jan 2011, 19:07
not long now,

thats not too bad!

any other comments people?:)

terrain safe
21st Jan 2011, 19:17
Regarding automation, en-route is more than likely, but in a tower environment probably never. Too easy to go wrong quickly. But in end everything will be automated.

cptdivz
21st Jan 2011, 20:02
terrain safe,