PDA

View Full Version : Too many instructors????

AOB9
14th Jan 2011, 10:02
I'm a part time PPL student. I'm learning to fly because it's always been an ambition. I have no aspirations to going commercial, my target is PPL with night rating. Training is expensive, money is tight and I'm flying approx. once every 10/14 days.

The flight school I'm attending appears to be packed to the roof with commercial wannabes, so I understand that the part time guy isn't crucial to their overall success.

However, I've had to have a gentle word this morning because todays instructor will the sixth different instructor in eight lessons. All of my instructors have been great guys and I'm not saying a word against any of them. But my gut instinct tells me that this is not the most effective way to learn anything, especially a skill such as flying.

How am I to get familiar/comfortable with my instructor in this situation and how is he/she going to get familiar with the formation of bad habits? Habits that could ultimately lead to me being a substandard/average pilot as opposed to a competent one.

Am I getting too excited about this, would anyone argue that multiple instructors is actually a good idea? And, finally is this situation going to lead to more hours training than would otherwise be necessary, i.e more cost to me?

sunday driver
14th Jan 2011, 10:26
This is a pretty familiar scenario

What worked for me (and still does for checkouts) is ...

Decide which instructor seems to gel with your learning style
Book your sessions well in advance
Politely but firmly book your session with the words "I'd like to book a lesson with Ellie Vator, please, in G-AFFE (always good to use a familiar steed to begin with)"
When they say "I'm sorry she/he's booked/sick/holiday/injail" be a bit flexible on dates/times and ask politely "When will she/he be available)?"