PDA

View Full Version : Any pilots here scared of heights ?

anengineer
4th Jun 2001, 02:21
Just had an odd thought... I'm not very good with heights up close (like the edge of a sheer drop), but am in heaven in the jumpseat at 370!

Genuine question...(and not a journo trying to publish some 'Shock! - xx% of pilots admit..' crap ! :) )

MikeSamuel
4th Jun 2001, 02:32
There was a very long topic in regard to this subject not so long ago...Try reading down, you'll find all of your scaredy pilots there ;)

Regards

Mike

anengineer
4th Jun 2001, 03:26
I did search before posting - but 'heights' came up with nothing... how can I find it ?

Cheers.

critcaact
4th Jun 2001, 05:08
No, but I'm terrified of Hagis.

Checkboard
4th Jun 2001, 09:10
Isn't Hagis one of the characters in the Harry Potter books?

chicken6
4th Jun 2001, 09:48
No, that's Hagrid, but he is a half-giant and the first-years at Hogwarts were often scared of him at first...

waiting for number 5 now...

Golden Monkey
4th Jun 2001, 16:39
Yeah, I love heights when I'm in a plane. I think with me at least it's a "if you're connected to the ground it's scary" thing.

Ladders, I dislike. Tall buildings and bridges, I dislike. Cable cars are sort of in-between because it's not a solid connection to the ground. Aircraft, absolutely fine.

As a point of note, I decided to do a bungy jump a couple of years back to cure my vertigo. The experience, however, has merely substituted one sort of fear for another. Whereas originally I had a fear of falling off things, now I have an irrational urge to jump. I wouldn't recommend that course of action to anyone else!

Big Red ' L '
4th Jun 2001, 17:24
anengineer...... I put up a question like this ages ago and got some really interesting replies... I will try and find the address for you...

------------------
Its not the fall that kills you...Its the sudden stop.....

Big Red ' L '
4th Jun 2001, 17:34
Found it, check out JetBlast.....

------------------

PFD