PDA

View Full Version : ATCO ordering a rejected take-off?

Nicholas49
28th Dec 2010, 17:26
Hi

I'm not an aviation professional, but I thought this was the best forum to ask this question.

I know that an Air Traffic Controller can order an aircraft to go-around, for example due to loss of separation or contaminated runway. I also know that this is not a rare occurrence.

But can an ATCO order pilots to abort their take-off? If so, can they do this at high speed? Obviously the pilots will not abort above V1, but in any case I imagine the Tower would have no way to tell when V1 is reached? Finally, out of interest, what is the wording used by the ATCO to order this manoeuvre?

Nick

Crazy Voyager
28th Dec 2010, 17:42
For the details I'll let someone who is a profesional reply, but I can answer with respect to the wording.

Standard ICAO phraseology is:
If the aircraft is standing still and has not started rolling
[callsign] Hold position, cancel takeoff (I say again,hold position, cancel takeoff), (reason)
example:
BAW513 hold position, cancel takeoff I say again, hold position cancel takeoff. Traffic departing an intersecting runway.

Or if the aircraft has started rolling
[callsign] stop immediately, (I say again,stop immediately).
Example:
RYR3LV stop immediately, I say again, RYR3LV stop immediately.

Not sure if the callsign needs to be said again but that seems like a minor detail :p
Refrence to DOC9432 section 4-5 (page 4-9)

HEATHROW DIRECTOR
28th Dec 2010, 17:44
If the aircraft has commenced take-off:
"(Callsign) Stop immediately. I say again (Callsign) stop immediately - acknowledge"

If the aircraft has not commenced take-off:
"(Callsign) hold position. Cancel take-off - I say again, cancel take-off - acknowledge".

vintage ATCO
28th Dec 2010, 18:09
If so, can they do this at high speed? Obviously the pilots will not abort above V1, but in any case I imagine the Tower would have no way to tell when V1 is reached?