PDA

View Full Version : This whole Fungal Growth in Fuel thing.

Ganyeka
23rd Nov 2010, 04:06
Firstly, I am not a Pilot. I am a lawyer. That alone may be grounds on which to hang, draw and quarter me. I do have 2 close friends who are Pilots, both with Virgin Blue. I don't know if that helps.

The reason for me posting on this forum is slightly obscure. I have a client who is, amongst other things, an inventor. He is very intelligent, but, how do I say this delicately, he's "unconventional". He recently posted as Fungal Bob in your Tech Forum about fungal growth in fuel and was roundly criticised. I believe his intentions to have been honourable. He isn't trolling or spamming for commercial benefit. He has connected some dots and become concerned by the inferences he has drawn. He does have existing technology that is relevant to fuels and specifically to microbial contamination, hence his interest. He is one of these guys who genuinely wants to help.

I'm trying to get my head around the issue and thought I might humbly seek the views of this Forum's members.

I cannot technically assess the merits of the various arguments but a few things seem clear. At the risk of over-simplification, microbial contamination and fungal growth in aircraft fuel seems well recognized. It's effects are known to be problematic for engines and other parts due to corrosion, blocked filters (and one therefore assumes fuel delivery), wing electrics and structural elements etc. Whilst there seems to be maintenance routines for detection and correction and various additives to combat this microbial contamination, it seems clear that it does, nonetheless, routinely cause both minor and serious safety concerns.