PDA

View Full Version : Question on simulator and line checks

Nicholas49
20th Nov 2010, 10:55
I am not a professional pilot, but I thought this was the best forum to ask my question. Hope that's OK.

I understand that all professional pilots must pass:

- a six-monthly simulator check in which emergency drills are conducted;
- a yearly line check, which is conducted on a scheduled flight to see how the pilot operates a "normal" flight.

I understand that the recurrent training and examination is conducted by a training captain at that particular airline and that the contents will be largely the same but there will be some variation from one airline to the next.

My question is: is there a legal / regulatory requirement on airlines to carry out these checks? If so, could someone point me to where the requirement is found? Or are they the result of industry consensus / good practice?

Are they universal? For example, would a European short-haul pilot undergo the same checks as a long-haul pilot working for an American airline?

Finally, just out of curiosity, if a training captain is conducting a line check from the jump-seat of a scheduled flight, would the captain undergoing the line check normally inform passengers that there is a training captain on board when he introduces the crew? Or would that just confuse passengers?

Thanks as always for taking the time to reply.
Nick

SNS3Guppy
20th Nov 2010, 12:00
Nick,

The policies and procedures will vary from company to company, but the specifics of what are required for recurrent training, line checks, etc, are mandated by the air authority overseeing a particular carrier. In the USA, that authority is the Federal Aviation Administration, of the Department of Transportation.