PDA

View Full Version : 10 dme separation ...pls help me this...

hoaiphuongNgo
10th Nov 2010, 09:54
Suppose that we have traffic:one inbound trafffic 10 dme maitaining 7000ft,one outbound traffic 20 dme maintaining 6000ft _from the same VOR/DME and both of traffic on the same radial..So,at that time, can we clear inbound traffic for descending(will cross 6000ft)and outbound traffic climbing(will cross 7000 ft) ?What's type of separation?From what's doccuments?Is this illegal?:confused:
I'm a TWR controller,7 yrs in job.I have no much experiences!So pls help me.Tks in advandce!:\

reportyourlevel
10th Nov 2010, 12:36
In the UK, aircraft on reciprocal tracks at the same level are considered separated when they are 40 miles apart. This can be reduced to 10 miles if it can be established that they have passed each other. This may be further reduced to 5 miles if the aircraft are within 100 miles of the DME station.

Position reports must be made relative to the same "on track" DME station and separation using DME is not to be used within 15 miles of the station due to slant range errors.

malecontrol
10th Nov 2010, 16:20
As a TWR controller you shouldn't be doing this separation, at least not without proper training. That's the approach controller's job.

hoaiphuongNgo
10th Nov 2010, 22:16
Tks so much all your help!Acctually I work in a TMA:from ground up to FL100 within 30 DME,includding takeoff and landing clearances,traffic on ground etc..(APP+TWR+GND controller:3 in 1):)So,as an approach controller,can I use 10 dme separation instead of using VOR sep(15 degees, 15NM)?Pls give me suggestions!:bored:

Frunobulax
10th Nov 2010, 22:32
Fine with me :)

BTW How is 15 NM/15 degrees VOR separation used in your countries? Do they both have to be outbound the VOR?

hoaiphuongNgo
11th Nov 2010, 01:12
In VietNam,the VOR separation is applied :both traffic outbound,one inbound and one outbound,but not often both inbound.