PDA

View Full Version : Delta CRJ 900 diverts to JFK with right main gear failure

Two's in
26th Sep 2010, 12:19
Delta flight 4951, a CRJ 900 scheduled from ATL to HPN (White Plains, about 30 miles NE of New York) diverted to JFK last night 25 September at about 8pm EDT after the right gear failed to lower. 64 Pax and crew, no reports of any injuries.

Pilot keeps his cool, gets all 64 passengers and crew aboard Delta Flight 4951 down safely (http://www.nydailynews.com/ny_local/2010/09/26/2010-09-26_64_souls_and_3000_gallons_of_fuel_head_for_runway_31.html )

PaperTiger
26th Sep 2010, 12:43
With slightly less hyperbole :rolleyes: : Accident: Atlantic Southeast CRJ9 at Westchester on Sep 25th 2010, could not extend right hand main gear (http://avherald.com/h?article=4316a077&opt=0)

ManaAdaSystem
26th Sep 2010, 13:11
Job well done to the crew!

I'm a pilot, but I'm not a hero, so I think this a fairly high stress situation. Fire is a real possibility.

However, another Bombardier gear failure? Not good news. Luckily it didn't happen on a SAS CRJ.
They need to find the cause real fast.

Bruce Wayne
26th Sep 2010, 14:01
The pilot remained as calm as if he were Chesley Sullenberger's twin as the tower offered him a choice of runways.

yeah, because its an inherent nataure of pilots to go hysterical ! :ugh::ugh::ugh:

Aviophage
26th Sep 2010, 14:37
I don't believe how this news article can compare this Delta pilot with hero and ace pilot Sully....

I heard the problem was caused by maintenance error on behalf of Delta. I'll try and find the source now...

Peter Fanelli
26th Sep 2010, 17:29
I heard the problem was caused by maintenance error on behalf of Delta. I'll try and find the source now...

I seriously doubt that Delta Airlines has anything to do with the maintenance of the aircraft involved.

Are you trying to get sued?

poorjohn
26th Sep 2010, 18:03