PDA

View Full Version : B737NG refuelling question

greekphotog
26th Aug 2010, 21:33
First post here i am not an engineer so please bear with me...:O

Following incident occured at our airport:
Boeing 737-800 is beeing refuelled on stand via fuel dispenser.
Aircraft APU is off as power is supplied by fixed ground generator.
During refuelling there is a power shortage as the gpu goes inop.
Nearly the same time fuel starts to flow from the underwing fuel vent creatng a major spill on the apron.
According to the airline (engineer of flight deck crew...not sure as i was not present) ,the whole problem was caused by the gpu power shortage.

My question here is if the above is really true as its the first time i have heard about this kind of incident.Can a loss of electrical power during refuelling create the above effect? How does a 737NG "act" during this kind of situation?
Any reference material from Boeing would be deeply appreciated!

Thanks in advance

d105
26th Aug 2010, 23:54
737NG fuel systems are AC powered. Having the GPU cut out will cut that AC power and leave the aircraft on DC only.

photons
27th Aug 2010, 00:57
If GPU power was lost without the flightcrew being aware, then the 737NG will revert to DC power/standby and will deplete the battery dry within 30 minutes.
If the crew were aware of GPU loss, then there is a chance that the standby switch wasn't selected to battery or the flightcrew allowed the battery to deplete without powering the APU.

When AC power is lost the battery on standby converts DC to AC via static inverter to power the fuel cut off switch and fuel gauges. Basically GPU power loss will have no affect on re-fuelling as long as the standby switch was set to 'battery'.

Without any DC or AC power the fuel valves will close automatically, and will remain closed untill the red overide button is pressed continuously while refueling. A tool can be used to hold the spring in the valve to the 'open' position.