PDA

View Full Version : convert CAA licence to IAA

mintpro172
17th Aug 2010, 20:43
Hi all,

I am currently an instructor in New Zealand where I have done all of my training. However I am Irish and am heading home for a visit next year and I was wondering what work needs to be done to get my Instructor rating converted to a PPL or CPL in Ireland just so I can take my family up on some scenics? Thanks in advance :ok:

dublinpilot
17th Aug 2010, 22:10
If you just want to take your friends and family flying, but don't want to provide any instruction or commercial privileges, then the good news is that you probably don't have to convert anything.

You haven't said which CAA issued your licence, but I presume it's NZ CAA. I'm also presuming that it is a ICAO licence, and not a national one.

Article 5, of SI333 of 2000 (Personnel Licensing Order) is your friend. If will provide you with private VFR privileges without any paperwork ;)

"5. (1) Subject to the provisions of this Order, a person shall not act as a flight crew member of an aircraft registered in the State unless that person is the holder of an appropriate licence issued or validated by the Authority, or a JAA licence.

[...]

(10) For the purposes of this Article, a valid and subsisting licence, other than a JAA licence, issued by any other state which is a member of the International Civil Aviation Organisation in conformity with Annex I (Personnel Licensing) to the Chicago Convention purporting to authorise the holder thereof to act as a flight crew member of an aircraft, not being a licence purporting to authorise that holder to act as a student pilot only, shall be deemed to be a licence validated by the Authority under the provisions of this Order entitling the holder thereof to fly as a member of the flight crew of a private aircraft insofar as the holder is permitted to do so by the terms of the licence and by the law of the state by which it was issued:

Provided that-