PDA

View Full Version : Dash 8 propeller governor

Ocampo
10th Aug 2010, 00:07
Hi everyone.

Does anybody knows/has info on the DHC-8 prop governor? In my ODM it says the prop angles are regulated through "coarse" and "fine" oil metering into the hub, but since I'm new to the airplane I don't follow. Add that to the fact that the ODM doesn't have a system schematic about it. As if prop governors weren't hard enough :rolleyes:

Any info is appreciated.

Thanks in advance

Tango51
10th Aug 2010, 13:32
Hmmm, I don't have data on the DHC-8 prop but most propeller governors essentially use two reservoirs of oil to change the blade angle. Conceptually it's something like this:

http://www.avweb.com/newspics/pp16d.gif
(Source: John Deakin - Pelican's Perch)
Pelican's Perch #16:<br>Those Marvelous Props (http://www.avweb.com/news/pelican/182082-1.html)

One reservoir provides the pressure to make the pitch more coarse while the other reservoir provides the pressure to make the pitch more fine.

Here's a schematic of the Superconstellation Hamilton Standard prop and governor that show's you more realistically how things are connected. Note the pressure oil and return oil used to control the pitch of the prop.

http://www.superconstellation.org/TechnicalInformation/propeller/prop-schema.jpg

source: http://www.superconstellation.org/TechnicalInformation/propeller/prop-schema.jpg

barit1
10th Aug 2010, 13:37
Have you read any introductory material such as this? (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Constant_speed_propeller)

Please bear in mind that "coarse" is a synonym for "high blade pitch" (i.e. low rpm), and "fine" means "low blade pitch" (high rpm).

Ocampo
12th Aug 2010, 15:39
Thanks for the replies guys.