PDA

View Full Version : Electronic flight progress strips....what system is the best

square-head
23rd Jul 2010, 07:58
We are changing over to paper-less strips and had a look at various systems. But to get the most user-friendly one is difficult to judge. What is you experience on the best system?

OA32
23rd Jul 2010, 09:14
Will you be using them in Tower, Approach, Area or all three? There are a few providers now including Selex, Frequentis, Nav Canada, Saab and Park Air Systems. For a radar environment Selex's SATCAS 2000 enables interaction through the data labels on the Radar screen so you can keep an eye on what is going on, or you can have electronic strips on the same screen with a smaller radar picture. Park Air uses electronic strips on a Wacom panel but there is no interaction through the radar screen which means you spend more time looking at your board while inputting data/instructions. I have no experience of the other systems, as for which is the best that depends on what you're looking for in the system. I will say this though, SATCAS, Frequentis' smartstrips, NavCanada and Saab are proven systems in a live approach/en-route environment as opposed to Park Air's which as far as I know is only in live use in the tower environment with Jersey being the guinea-pig for the approach versions later in the year.

Gonzo
23rd Jul 2010, 11:52
At the end of the day, the most important factors are how much flexibility you have at your own unit to customise the system to your own needs, and how much resource is devoted to achieving that.

It's all very well selecting the 'best' system to use, but if it's not resourced and supported adequately, and you end up having to fight for that resource with other units, then it's not ideal.

square-head
24th Jul 2010, 08:20