PDA

View Full Version : Inadvertent Spins -- How close have you come ?

kabz
9th Jul 2001, 23:44
There is a great Spinnophobia thread on Instructors... I thought I just post a question here and ask:

Have any of you guys experienced an inadvertent stall / spin in other than a training situation ?

If so, was it significantly different than in training, and how did you feel/perform ?

(Edited for spelling)

[ 09 July 2001: Message edited by: kabz ]

pulse1
10th Jul 2001, 00:46
Years ago I got carried away trying to burst balloons in a Tiger Moth and went into an incipient spin at about 1500'. Fortunately I was an experienced glider pilot in those days and was used to being on the edge during turbulent soaring and managed to recover after about half a turn and only lost 200' or so. The instructor (safety pilot)in the front didn't say anything so I'm not sure he realised what was going on. Although I hit one of two balloons, I never managed to burst one.

This was all part of an annual club competition which also involved dropping flour bags on a target followed by a spot landing. Can't say I ever did particularly well.

[ 09 July 2001: Message edited by: pulse1 ]

Code Blue
10th Jul 2001, 01:11
Some (cough) years ago, with the grand total of about 20h, I was doing circuits. I had just turned base to final when tower asked for a left 360 for spacing. I was about 400'agl at about 60KIAS with 20º flaps (C152). I rolled left and pulled, keen to obey - only to sink sideways rather more than turn. The main feeling I had was that I was going down way too fast. The only thing I could think to do was stop pulling, or even push a bit, and roll level - to hell with heading- as that might reverse whatever had happened :rolleyes:

I came out at about 150'agl heading 120º left of the runway and wandered off to sort myself out.