PDA

View Full Version : Help required with aviation terminology

Marp
27th Jun 2010, 09:48
Newbie here and not sure if I'm posting in the right place, but here goes...

I'm a translator working on a TV series about an airline that runs old planes up in the Yukon (many of you may have seen it). The translation is Eng-Fr.

Most of the standard terminology can be found on internet, but a lot of it is slang or plain incomprehensible to most non-flying mortals.

Through experience, I know that bad translation is a complete turn-off when watching a TV series when you know the subject, and that's what I want to avoid in this case.

I was wondering if any good souls would be able to help me decipher some of the more obscure language used by the pilots. We're talking about DC3's DC4's C46's etc.. (pistonheads)

For example, the following exchange between pilot and copilot when taking off:
A:"One Five Four is fine in the back track."
B: "Check. One Five four on the right."

If it's easier (and so as not to waste bandwidth) it could be done off-forum.

Thanks in advance for any assistance you could provide

Lightning Mate
27th Jun 2010, 11:48
First of all one has to translate the usual incorrect (and often illegal) R/T from American into English.

Then we might get somewhere.

I'll try.....standby (that means wait and I will call you).

forget
27th Jun 2010, 12:33
Lightning Mate, isn't Marp asking for an accurate and direct translation, word for word, but with a common-sense check that his/her translated words would be used by pilots. Marp's not looking for what words should be used. If you get my drift. Anyway, it's not American; it's Canadian.

Marp, full marks for asking. :ok:

PaperTiger
27th Jun 2010, 12:47
Sounds like setting the bearing to a VOR etc. behind them.

154deg from somewhere = 334 to somewhere, (NNW). Sort of route Buffalo might take from CYZF.

Or something else entirely :O .

Lightning Mate
27th Jun 2010, 13:08
forget,