PDA

View Full Version : Absolute Beginner

SLF@LBA
23rd Jun 2001, 23:03
Some basic advice needed:

I would like to learn to fly - approx. how much will this cost and how long will it take? (I appreciate that this is like asking how long is a piece of string!). I live in West Yorkshire - any pointers to good flying school much appreciated.

Thanks in advance.

Yogi-Bear
24th Jun 2001, 01:48
Yes, a long piece of string. Best to get hold of something like Pilot magazine's "Learn to/Where to fly guide 2001", details from their website: www.pilotweb.co.uk (http://www.pilotweb.co.uk) :) :)

Kermit 180
24th Jun 2001, 09:45
Take time to visit as many local schools as you can. Talk to pilots at these schools, and ask instructors as much as you want to know. Most schools have a clear and concise prospectus that outlins the requirements and approximate costs for learning to fly. Consider things such as time to get to the airfield from home, the atmosphere of the school, the size of the fleet, the number available of the type of trainer you want to learn in, and the pass rate of that school for exams and flight tests. All the best in your endeavours.

[This message has been edited by Kermit 180 (edited 24 June 2001).]

Evo7
24th Jun 2001, 12:16
Only thing that I'd add is that, IMHO, I wouldn't go too far to fly - nothing like fighting through 30 miles of traffic to put you off your lessons, unless you've got enough spare time to go early and have lunch or watch them go by for a while first.

How long? Well, my neighbour did it in 3 weeks in Florida, so you can do it damn quick. I started this year, and I'm hoping to fly solo before the end of the summer (I've got a PhD Thesis to write up in the meantime, so I'm taking it pretty slowly http://www.pprune.org/ubb/NonCGI/frown.gif ) and hopefully get the hours/cross-country stuff done next summer. I guess that's the other extreme, but I'm not really in much of a hurry.

Oh, and go for it. :) :) :)

SLF@LBA
24th Jun 2001, 13:49