View Full Version : JAA ATPL to FAA CPL Conversion

HryUpNWait
30th May 2010, 14:38
Hi! First of all I want to thank you in advance for even looking at the thread ad taking time to answer it. I am a brand new unemployed pilot, completed my training at AAE in Portugal. I am looking for a job pretty much anywhere and i was wondering what is necessary for me to convert my current FRZ JAA ATPL to an FAA CPL. I have 210h, of which about 50 is sim time and also have my IR/MEP ratings. Does anybody know what else I need in order to get an FAA CPL? I'm pretty sure I can get a PPL with some paperwork but what about the rest? Thanks again.

ab33t
30th May 2010, 16:32
You cannot convert you will need to do the whole CPL / ME / SE /IR you will get credit for JAA IR hours but you will find it difficult to get a CFI to sign you off without +- 20 hrs of instruction . After obatining your IR you then require 250 hrs to do the CPL, then do the CPL theory exam , the hardest part of the CPL is the oral before the check ride anything from 2 to 4 hrs depending hour sharp you are, if you only require the ME, check the FAR's for the requirements they are quite steep .

ab33t
30th May 2010, 16:34
Also I would not bother doing that unless you have loads of money or are assured of getting a job as you need to maintain the IR currency by flying and doing ME BIFR for the CPL

HryUpNWait
30th May 2010, 19:52
Alright, good to know. Thanks.

Tinstaafl
31st May 2010, 00:08
You have a JAA CPL, not ATPL, and an IR. It says so on the licence - and that's what the FAA read and will be told by the issuing authority. The FAA CPL requires 250 hrs total, with various sub-total and milage requirements.