PDA

View Full Version : Failing IR first series = never becoming a professional pilot

flyboy1818
29th Apr 2010, 13:13
I have just failed my first series IR flight test, I made a few stupid mistakes. I'm gutted about this and I'm now seriously worried about my future in professional aviation, I am not new to flying, I have been flying for over ten years. I'm still young (under 25). Will you always be viewed as a failed pilot for failing an IR flight test? Is my future doomed and should I just accept that I'm not cut out for this and give up now?

I have completed my flight training whilst working shift work and its not been very easy, but I don't want to be in loads of debt like everyone else and I know that nothing in this industry is guaranteed.

Its alot of money to retake an IR flight test and I'm having nightmares about failing this again!

TopGunGB
29th Apr 2010, 13:35
Flyboy,

Don't get down on yourself. Look at the situation this way: It's better to fail the test and learn from it than pass it by sheer luck. You know what your mistakes were. Learn from them and you'll approach your re-test a wiser and more able pilot.

By the way, I know a girl who failed her IR test the first time as well. She was absolutely devastated and questioned her abilities. She's now a captain at a major airline in the UK. :ok:

Halfwayback
29th Apr 2010, 13:37
We all have what the doctors call the white coat syndrome and when we are being examined, medically or otherwise, we tend to get wound up. It is then we make mistakes. With good training and by thinking ahead of the game, it is much less likely that you will make them in the real world

I failed my first commercial IR by not correctly using the alternate procedure at Jersey. I re-took it almost immediately and passed. I have been with the same major UK carrier for almost 20 years and have more than 12k hours.