PDA

View Full Version : Floatplane Crash Video

clearfinalsno1
4th Apr 2010, 21:50
Not sure if this has been seen yet. This guy's worst day...

Floatplane struggles to get airborne (http://www.liveleak.com/view?i=b6f_1270238191)

GGR
4th Apr 2010, 22:36
I have no knowledge of this particular accident, other than watching the video.

I have no time float plane flying or accident investigating but would I be correct in thinking a little forward pressure on the column as in, on the step, or not, was missing here, how so ever caused?? Float rating is high on my list of things to do to make my 33 years of accident free aviating complete.

Thank you PilotDAR for your response.

GGR

Pilot DAR
5th Apr 2010, 02:27
Preface this by saying that I have no knowledge of this particular accident, other than watching the video.

If my uninformed opinion mattered, I would say there was a loading or C of G factor in the crash. Of the dozen or so types of float equipped aircraft I have flown, the Beaver has to be the easiest to get off the water, as long as it is correctly loaded.

I did many hours of flight evaluation, a number of years ago, for the STC design approval of the modification of the Beaver to move the engine 9.75" further forward, to reduce the chances of aft C of G loading errors, particularly on floats. The modification was a remarkable success. It has been proposed that the original DHC Beaver design was planned to use a "Gypsy" series engine, whose length made the engine C of G further forward. A change to the Beaver's design resulted in the radial being used instead, and the affect was a more aft C of G than perhaps originally planned. The aircraft still flew well, but mis loading aft was more possible.

Over the years, cabin changes by STC provided more space aft in the cabin (evidenced by the changed rear window on the subject aircraft), which further enabled aft loading.