PDA

View Full Version : JAR-PPL Theoretical 4 fail rule

rollix
17th Mar 2010, 04:17
Hi all,

Some months ago I was in Latvia giving my PPL theoretical exams, and got stuck in a particular situation.

I've got 6 out of 9 exams cleared, but then, when it came to face principles of flight I had some difficulties, and failed three times (shame on me :uhoh:).

At that point I decided to take some time for a deeper study of the subject, and a couple of months passed.
In the meanwhile surprise, Latvian CAA adopted a new rule, and since then 4 failures in the same subject will make all the other previously passed exams void.

4 failures before voiding all exams can be fair, I mean it shouldn't happen to fail that much times in the same subject, but when I was giving exams failure simply meant to pay the fee again and retake it another time, and I also had pressure to pass it quick to take care of the remaining subjects, which I was already preparing for.

I'm studying hard and trying to reach 85-95%, but even reaching 90% in quizs I still feel really unsafe into going to exam risking to kill all of the other subjects I've done.

Having to give them all again it's not only a major hassle, but it will require me plenty of time for preparation, time that (mainly due to work) I don't have.

Now, I know that ATPL and CPL rules are the same for all JAA members, but for PPL different regulations about licensing and exams does apply for each state.

The question is, asking theoretical exams transfer to my home country (Italy), or to any other JAA member state, can help me into avoiding this "4 fail rule", or that's a JAA imposed thing, in common to all JAA states?

I tried to search further information about the argument but it seems to be a new, or a not so much discussed thing :ugh:.

Thanks in advance

IO540
17th Mar 2010, 07:18
There is a similar issue with colour vision tests, on which you are allowed to fail each type only once per life.