PDA

View Full Version : Post PPL Training Question

mur007
11th Mar 2010, 16:31
I'm coming towards the end of my PPL training (I've got just under 50 hours and have just done my first solo nav-ex) and am training in a Warrior at Biggin Hill. I'm starting to think about what will happen after - I'm a bit worried that availability at my club might be an issue. As I am a teacher, I can only really fly at weekends (and holidays too of course). At weekends all of the Warriors are usually fully booked for instructional flights so I am not sure if I would realistically be able to use one once I've got my licence.

I do intend to discuss all this with my instructor (who I have a great deal of respect for) but I wanted to gauge opinions on here first ... is it worth thinking about possibly buying a share now or at least start looking for one now? I'm fairly 'big' (ie fat! - I weigh around 18 stones!) and I like the docile nature of the Warrior so I'm not sure I'd be too interested in looking at other aircraft types. Plus I would want to stay at Biggin anyway as it is convenient for me to get to as well as familiar.

What do people think? Am I being a little premature? Is it normal for people coming towards the end of their training to start looking to buy shares or should they wait a bit after they have their licence?

Any comments would be very gratefully received ...

Lister Noble
11th Mar 2010, 16:49
I bought a share while I was still learning.
The share was in what I wanted,and rarely come up,so I bought it,knowing I could always sell it if I failed all my exams and flight tests!
Fortunately I got my licence and still have my share,and in fact I flew the aircraft yesterday.
Talk to your instructor,and go for it.
Lister:)

VOD80
11th Mar 2010, 19:02
It depends on your personal situation and how much you see yourself flying afterwards but - just to give you another viewpoint: