PDA

View Full Version : Tedious question about PICUS

EGCC Wannabe
27th Jan 2010, 09:18
This may have been covered before, but I couldn't find it on search.

I work as a PPL FI at two flying schools, there is a variation in the methods of logging time for PPL checkflights (in the customers logbook).

One logs as PICUS, the other PUT.

I've checked LASORS (in general info) and JAR FCL 1.080. Neither are particuarly clear on the issue. Checkflights are not specifically mentioned so by it's absence I assume it's PUT.

Any thoughts?

Ok, I'm off to think about something more interesting... paint drying etc..

S-Works
27th Jan 2010, 09:27
As an FI you really should know this stuff. So to refresh your memory.

Outside of an integrated training environment the only time that you can use PICUS is on the successful completion of a flight test with an Examiner. The flight goes in the P1 column as PICUS.

Now a check flight is a bone of contention in many quarters. If the person you are checking holds a valid class rating for the aircraft is, legally current on type and you are not accompanying them for the purpose of Instruction then technically you are a passenger and they are P1. (There will now follow 20 pages of debate on that one)

The general view is that if you are there in the capacity of representing the owner/operator and checking that the pilot is still safe then it is generally accepted that the person being checked is PUT.

As I have said there will be great debate amongst the Instructor camp that says when they are onboard acting on behalf of the owner/operator then they are always PIC and the person being checked is PUT. This is generally the footing of the hours builders. The other camp is if they are there just to carry out a check rather than Instruction as the pilot is legal then they are an observer and the person being checked is PIC. I am in the latter camp, I log PIC when I am TEACHING not watching.

BillieBob
27th Jan 2010, 10:05