PDA

View Full Version : C172S or DA20/DA40XLS for Flight School?

RoToR_V8D
21st Jan 2010, 00:26
I have been instructing for a little over ten years now, and I'm looking to start my own school this year.

I am after some input, if you have time, regards your thoughts on the use of Constant Speed Units for ab-initio instruction. I'm leaning toward "if they are taught properly from the get-go, it shouldn't be an issue", and we taught ab-inito in the military on constant speed - but I'm open to the opinions of those whom may have tried this route already?

I am trying to make a bigger decision between the a C172S/C182 combination and the DA20/DA40 aircraft combination to train pilots through to Commercial.

Any experience that may help by way of comparison would again be most welcome.

Cheers

gusty_tailwind
21st Jan 2010, 02:08
I wonder if there's any insurance premium for using constant-speed props to train folks with no flight experience? Otherwise, it doesn't seem like it'd be too much more of a leap for folks just starting the addiction to get constant-speed props under their belts -- especially if you're using equipment with FADECs.

I hear that many folks are looking for glass cockpits as differentiators of flight schools these days.

RoToR_V8D
21st Jan 2010, 02:13
Yes, I've heard the same thing about 'glass' and schools. It makes sense.

I hadn't thought about insurance premiums taking into account the Constant Speed issue, but I'll chase that up too.

Cheers

ab33t
21st Jan 2010, 12:46
I think the bottom line would be the support and maintainence issues rather than aircraft type. I have flown all the mentioned aircraft and would not mind using any , bottom line is support . Cessna have been around a long time and if you use over a certain amount of their aircraft the provide a specialized support package. I dont know how well the carbon airframe will age , Cessna speaks for itself as I did my PPL in a 1970's 150

kme
23rd Jan 2010, 10:00