PDA

View Full Version : Spitfire style control column vs straight column

PT6ER
11th Jan 2010, 18:52
I've searched the archives to no avail so if this question is a duplicate, sorry.

Here goes:

Can anyone give me valid reasons, be they ergonomic or otherwise, why British WW2 era fighters used a control column with a ring at the top as opposed to the straightforward style used elsewhere. I am an engineer, not a pilot so be gentle :)

Knowing that necessity is the mother etc, I have to believe it was not just down to "this is what we had before, therfore this is what you get..."

Thanks in advance

tinpis
11th Jan 2010, 20:04
They didn't know how to build a nice roomy cockpit like the Yanks
Think stick throw.

Fareastdriver
11th Jan 2010, 20:49
In the days of manual controls a pilot could use both hands on a spade grip as opposed to a straight stick and therefore get more aileron quicker and therefore a faster rate of roll. There was nothing delicate about dog-fighting, it was throttles to the wall and violent manhandling of all the controls. Some pilots were so ham-fisted that they spun out of trouble. Other spun into it.

stevef
12th Jan 2010, 17:06
I read somewhere that it was designed to eliminate the amount of lateral movement necessary with a conventional stick to obtain full aileron deflection.
(Like tinpis sez.)

Capot
12th Jan 2010, 19:19
FWIW the Percival Prentice had a similar stick top IIRC. Make of it what you may, but dog-fighting was probably not top of the designer's priorities. Futile attempts at spin recovery, maybe. Heaving the damn thing off the ground, maybe.

ZeBedie
12th Jan 2010, 20:21
You could hang onto that style of stick during negative G.

henry crun
12th Jan 2010, 20:43
You **@#!**#@ Capot:

It has taken me years to erase the memory of that apology for a flying machine, and now you had to name the bloody thing and bring the nightmare back to life again, thanks a bunch !

VX275
12th Jan 2010, 20:45