PDA

View Full Version : airspace classification more than 12 nm off shore

rsiano
21st Nov 2009, 01:33
Hi,
I am an instructor teaching International Procedures Recurrent at FlightSafety Teterboro.
I am searching for an answer to this question...
In the USA Airspace A extends from FL180 to FL600. However, US Airspace A ends 12 nm off
shore (or does it extend further than 12 nm?). If I fly to a point 13 miles off shore, can I climb under VFR
to FL 610?...I have asked a lot of experienced pilots that question this week and no one seems to know the answer.

Here is the definition of Airspace A from the Airmans Information Manual (http://www.faa.gov/air_traffic/publications/ATpubs/AIM/Chap3/aim0302.html#3-2-2):

"3-2-2. Class A Airspace

a. Definition. Generally, that airspace from 18,000 feet MSL up to and including FL 600, including the airspace overlying the waters within 12 nautical miles of the coast of the 48 contiguous States and Alaska; and designated international airspace beyond 12 nautical miles of the coast of the 48 contiguous States and Alaska within areas of domestic radio navigational signal or ATC radar coverage, and within which domestic procedures are applied."

The words in bold type make my understanding of the definition unclear. For example, it leads me to believe Airspace A may extend further than 12 nm off shore? If it does, how does a pilot know where it ends? The AIM also states in 3-2-2 c: "Charts. Class A airspace is not specifically charted."

I have always had an interest in VFR operations and the question is the result of that interest...What kind of airspace exists more than 12 nm off shore and will it permit VFR operations?

Thanks!
Dick

no sig
22nd Nov 2009, 20:15
Dick,