PDA

View Full Version : Sassoon saved for The Nation

Al R
5th Nov 2009, 06:24
I heard about this yesterday. Radio 4 played a recital of his 'soldier's declaration' and it really struck a chord. Its such a powerful work, especially at this time of year, because it enshrines soldier's rights as much as anything and demands that g'ment be held to account which ultimately, isn't what democracy is all about? It needs to be remembered that Sassoon wasn't anti-war, rather 'anti' how the war then, was starting to be played out. Seditious or conscientious? Who knows, I suppose it depends who you usually vote for. Lets not forget though, he won the MC and was unsuccessfully recommended for the VC, so he was no latte sipper.

<I am making this statement as an act of willful defiance of military authority, because I believe that the war is being deliberately prolonged by those who have the power to end it. I am a soldier, convinced that I am acting on behalf of soldiers. I believe that this war, upon which I entered as a war of defense and liberation, has now become a war of aggression and conquest. I believe that the purposes for which I and my fellow-soldiers entered upon this war should have been so clearly stated as to have made it impossible to change them, and that, had this been done, the objects which actuated us would now be attainable by negotiation.