PDA

View Full Version : Flying or sailing....????

fisbangwollop
24th Sep 2009, 06:59
In a bit of a quandry at the moment :uhoh:...20 years ago I spent every spare moment of my life flying my Pilatus B4 glider, in that time I accured a few hundred hours...then I sold up and bought a yacht, for the last 15 years I have had great fun with her and seen many nice places....now approaching 55 :( and having worked in ATC all of my life ( If you talk to Scottish Info 119.875 you will know who I am ) I am getting the notion to fly again and go have some fun!!:).....thinking of taking my NPPL then maybe trading the yacht for a jabiru/Tecnam/Eurostar type aircraft. Working at "Scottish info" I have met and on a daily basis speak to some great people....I have reached a stage in my life now I would like to be in the air talking to ATC rather than the other way around..........your views would be appreciated....:cool::cool:

Sir Niall Dementia
24th Sep 2009, 07:12
Do it man;

I fly for a living and still fly in my spare time, I also sail. You will always find it easier to get time to fly rather than to sail.

You will be amazed when you hear your colleagues being incredibly patient and be able to take the p*** unmercifully when you get back to work.

Don't think I could ever have parted from a Pilatus B4 though.

Pace
24th Sep 2009, 07:31
Fisbangwollop

Go for it life is full of near misses unlike flying :) I nearly did this, nearly did that, maybe next year after the wife get her new suite and before you know it your sitting in front of the box with a blanket over your knees going Ga Ga :E

Anyway isnt there a nice aircraft sitting up a tree round there somewhere? a bit of sticking plaster and your away.

Pace

fisbangwollop
24th Sep 2009, 07:36
Pace..Anyway isnt there a nice aircraft sitting up a tree round there somewhere? a bit of sticking plaster and your away.