View Full Version : A/G Operators - how to qualify & medical requirements.

CMM
22nd Sep 2009, 00:53
Hi folks, I am not sure if I am asking in the correct section and I completely understand that an A/G certificate does not make you an ATCO, but I hope I'm posting in the best place due to the broad question I wish to ask.

Essentially, I am a UK University student, hence I have a bit of spare time - I have always had an interest in aviation and rather than doing the usual hobbies I'd prefer to do something out of the ordinary which is both interesting and different (hence good for a future CV).

I am fortunate enough to attend a University which has an airfield which provides an A/G service closeby, and before approaching them directly I would like to get a little bit of advice so I don't make too much of a fool of myself.

I would like to get my A/G qualification but I am unsure how to go about it, what the training involves, or where the training often happens. Is it on-site training, or do you have to go to a college? What are the costs involved? I am also interested to know whether many A/G fields have the operators as volunteers or if it is a job as I understand some FISOs are full time. Just to clarify, I would be happy either as a volunteer or indeed as a part-time job - money is not the motivation at all.

What are the medical requirements? I am colour-deficiant hence I am worried that this will prevent me from doing yet another thing which I have ambitions for.

Thanks for all your help, and advice in advance.

HEATHROW DIRECTOR
22nd Sep 2009, 09:33
Somebody more up-to-date is bound to reply.. but just in case not, I believe an A/G operator requires no qualifications and training would probably involve sitting with one of A/G ops until they are happy for you to work alone. The next stage up is AFISO, which does involve certification, although is is not an Air Traffic Control service. Try a search on here for "AFISO"..