PDA

View Full Version : Need help for a ferry from Gatwick to Istanbul

SeattlePilot
12th Sep 2009, 12:13
I am a US based pilot that is about about ferry a Seneca in about a month. The professional ferry pilot will take the airplane across the pond (I am inexperienced and too chicken to make that attempt) but was wondering about the ways to do the ferry.
My planned route is to go down to South France and fly over Italy and Greece to avoid the mountainous region and lower temperatures.. Would like to get some information about the best airports to do the fuel stops (i.e lower AVGAS prices, no handling fees, etc.).
I am also shocked to see the cost of Jeppesen trip kit EU500+ for the trip kit is a bit more expensive that I thought..Any ideas how to get the local AIPs from local sources? Maybe order them online, etc.

Any help would be appreciated..

Thanks..

Seattlepilot

C-N
12th Sep 2009, 12:30
Usually light aircrafts fly to Canada first then Iceland then into Europe, then Turkey.
Suppose you're departing from Florida, then operate to Gander then Rejkyavik or Keflavik in Iceland then into UK then Turkey.

Whats the max endurance of your aircraft? And are you, and your aircraft ETOPS certified?

SeattlePilot
12th Sep 2009, 12:35
I will take care of the Seattle - Halifax part. The ferry pilot will do Halifax - Gatwick.. My intention is to get help about the Gatwick to Istanbul portion, not the Atlantic Crossing..

Thanks..

flyingfemme
12th Sep 2009, 13:32
First thing to do is forget about Gatwick - unless you are taking out a mortgage for the landing/handling/parking. Use a smaller airport, especially if you are parking up for more than a tech stop.

IFR charts/plates are expensive over here. You can look up plates on the individual AIPs for each country - see the FAA international flight information manual for useful details about each country. Charts will have to be bought and Jepp are as good as anything.