PDA

View Full Version : Unstabilized approaches

barit1
23rd Aug 2009, 01:28
I've experienced two obviously unstabilized VFR approaches as a interested observer - one day, one night.

The first was on ILS to KBOS 04R - but traffic did not clear the runway in time, and the tower offered our DC-9 33L instead. The zigzag was initiated at ~500 ft, giving pax a nice vertical view of the harbor first on the right, then the left side. We didn't roll wings level until over the numbers.

The second was a classic 180 from right downwind at AMM 09R. Again, we weren't wings level (in a L1011) until over the numbers.

Neither would be considered SOP, although as a private pilot I thoroughly enjoyed both rides. These guys obviously enjoyed hand-flying and knew their equipment well. :)

But what would the Chief Pilot say?

con-pilot
23rd Aug 2009, 01:45
But what would the Chief Pilot say?

Well a few years ago the Chief Pilot would have said, "great flying, well done."

Today, "The company attorneys want to talk to you."

Besides that, what looks unstable from the passenger cabin is not necessarily unstable from the cockpit view.

p51guy
23rd Aug 2009, 01:46
Well done unless you FIU.

411A
23rd Aug 2009, 02:25
Well a few years ago the Chief Pilot would have said, "great flying, well done."

Today also, in some companies.
How do I know? I am a Chief Pilot, and our Captains are top-notch oldtimers with superb handling abilities.
Type?
L1011:)

con-pilot
23rd Aug 2009, 02:40
Well I'll tell you what 411A, if I, for some strange unknown reason, decided to come out of retirement and start flying again, I'd hit you up for job. ;)

(But, it's not going to happen, coming out of retirement that is.)

free at last
23rd Aug 2009, 02:41
411A, Us old timer's have seen it all. I just hope the one's behind us will learn. Other wise the projection from a I-TA from the mid 90's, will come true ,one accident per week. best of luck to all!:)

MU3001A
23rd Aug 2009, 02:48