PDA

View Full Version : From Pilot to Controller?

avkiwi
4th Aug 2009, 04:32
I am a GA pilot who has had a lot of fun flying GA over the last few years however have got to a point where I want a change of lifestyle. I am not interested in the airlines and wondered if ATC could perhaps be for me.
The only thing holding me back is the question “will I miss the flying”
Are there many pilots in ATC who have trained to CPL IR level then moved onto ATC?
Is ATC interested in Pilots moving from flying to ATC?

slackie
4th Aug 2009, 05:18
There's no reason that you need to "give up" flying altogether...why not fly for fun?!

One of the problems we have is an ever increasing number of controllers that have no flying experience...10hrs of "flight deck time" doesn't give a trainee controller an appreciation for what occurs on the flight deck. Having said that, just because you are a pilot doesn't guarantee you'll make it as a controller, but it sure gives you a great headstart!!

In the same vein, it would be good to see more pilots, particularly RPTs, coming up to the towers to see what it's like on the other side of the microphone...might give them a better appreciation of some of the challenges we face (although we still have some swine flu visitor restrictions).

HEATHROW DIRECTOR
4th Aug 2009, 07:08
In the UK there are many, many controllers who are pilots - some with ATPLs flying in command. Of course, you could continue to fly privately too, as do hundreds of controllers.

Your posting makes it sound as if you are idly thinking of something to do "ah, wonder what ATC is like?" It's not easy and should be recognised as a career totally different to flying. The training for professional controller is as strenuous as that for professional flying licences and every pilot I have ever had sitting next to me at work has been amazed at what ATC involves. Most didn't fancy trying it.