PDA

View Full Version : London Airports' Holding Times: Thresholds?

S.D.E.
16th Jul 2009, 14:38
Hi - I'm an undergraduate engineering student working on some software designed to model the expected delay resultant from various factors of airport operations at Heathrow, Gatwick, Stansted and Luton. One of the essential factors is stacking or holding above airports on arrival; from experience, is there any typical "maximum holding time" (i.e. maximum average time that an aircraft is currently spending in a holding pattern) at which measures will be taken by air traffic control to ensure that the stack doesn't grow any larger? Possibilities may include delaying incoming flights, diverting flights (although I'm guessing this is extremely rare).

Thank you for your help in this - my research thus far has been less than fruitful.

HEATHROW DIRECTOR
16th Jul 2009, 20:16
1. ATC cannot divert flights; that is soley the pilot's responsibility. However, if an airport authority decides that for some reason it does not want the aircraft to land, ATC may be requested to send a message to that effect. However, it's still up to the pilot.

2. The length of time aircraft are in the hold can vary enormously - maybe from 2-3 minutes right up to an hour or more. In many cases, it is not the length of time aircraft are holding which causes problems but the number in the stack. In busy terminal areas the upper levels in holding areas may not be separated from adjacent routes. Therefore, if it is expected that aircraft may be require to hold so long that the upper levels would become occupied, the aircraft which would occupy those levels will be held at high levels outside the terminal area.

There are many other factors to be considered, but that may help.

dixi188
16th Jul 2009, 20:56
Aircraft inbound to the London TMA (Terminal Manouvering Area) are recommended to have 30 mins. holding fuel on any normal day.
Sometimes, due to weather factors, this is increased.