PDA

View Full Version : Tigerclub - Headcorn

MedusaThrills
4th May 2009, 17:27
Hello, I am a 17 year old student pilot. I am about a quarter of my way through my PPL and am looking of joining up to the tigerclub for when I pass.
I havent actually managed to get down and visit headcorn yet, unfortunately.
I was just wondering if there are any TC members here on pprune, that would be willing to talk me through the reality of the club. Are they a nice group of people, good socials as well.

What can I expect from being a full time member down there.

Thanks,
Alex

BroomstickPilot
4th May 2009, 17:35
Hi Medusa,

I note that you are based in Surrey, in which case Headcorn (Lashenden) is a helluva long way to go to fly.

There are other places that are either much nearer or easier to get to or both.

So why are you set on Headcorn?

Broomstick.

MedusaThrills
4th May 2009, 17:45
Hello.
Headcorn isnt really that far, if you think about it. I live on the very east side of Surrey. On the Surrey/Kent border. It is only 40 miles away and google earth has predicted it to be roughly an hour away.

Headcorn is famous for the Tiger Club. It used to be based at Redhill in the exact same hangar, I do part-time work in and fly out of.
Ive heard you can pick up some amazing tips, learn lots about aircraft and have a good time too. I would also like to do aerobatic competitions and formation flying in the Stampes and Moths.

The other place I was thinking of going to was White Waltham and looking at the aeros there. Although that is a completely different type of flying.

Doing a tail-wheel rating down at Redhill after I have completed a PPL in a Supercub.

Agaricus bisporus
4th May 2009, 18:03
Why not just go see them instead of asking for second-hand opinions that may not agree with your own views/reality?????

MedusaThrills
4th May 2009, 18:10