PDA

View Full Version : KLM 747 puzzling question!

jumbo Mouse
5th Oct 2001, 03:44
To whom can give a positive answer.

As an airline pilot I spend many aday building model airliners, to let the time pass!

I came across something very strange, one of my KLM 747's is registered as PH-BUJ, 747-300 and named "hudson". On investigation of all 747's produced and registered by Boeing not one matches PH-BUJ, there is a PH-BUI and PH-BUK and so on in the PH-BU_ series.

Further I went through the internet to view every KLM 747 photograghed, no PH-BUJ!

Does anyone recall a PH-BUJ or was the model I built just a registration freak?

Regards
Jumbo Mouse with some cheese

rustbucket732
5th Oct 2001, 05:03
as an aside PH-BUF (as I recall) was lost at Tenerife in the 77 ground accident. Not sure about your answer though!

GlueBall
5th Oct 2001, 05:04
No such animal on the PH register. Click Here (http://www1.drive.net/evird.acgi$pass*39991249!_h-www.landings.com/_landings/pages/search/search_hnr.html)

Mycroft
6th Oct 2001, 01:35
might be worth checking with one of our Dutch-speaking colleagues wether BUJ is a dutch swear word. This could be the reason why no PH-BUJ exists.

PaperTiger
6th Oct 2001, 03:32
Neither the Dutch nor the Swiss issued allocations containing 'J' for a long time. In the same way as there are no 'Q's in the UK.
Recently both have started running out of reggies (no more DVLA threads, please !) so Jays have started to appear in those countries.

There never was a PH-BUJ (would have been a 200SUD not a 300 BTW) and I don't have an old enough KLM list to show which one was 'Henry Hudson', which is now a 737.

[ 05 October 2001: Message edited by: PaperTiger ]

moleslayer
6th Oct 2001, 18:55
Does anyone out there remember the KLM
registrations PH-BUM & PH-*** around 1987/8

:D :D mysteriously disappeared :D :D

I think they were 747,but maybe DC10.

Any others out there in this vein ?

Man-on-the-fence
6th Oct 2001, 23:18