PDA

View Full Version : REPLY TO "a dangerous habit i have noticed in my landings"

echoindiajuliet
6th Mar 2009, 23:04
HI guys just posting this to see if anyone can offer any good tips or advice! I am a recent PPL obtainee pilot with just under 80 hours! The reason i am writing this is because i brought two of my friends up today on a local pleasure flight for their enjoyment and just for an all round spin! the problem is the whole flight went perfectly and everything was good and all but i bounced on two of my landings and hit slightly hard on the last full stop! my other two friends who have no knowledge of flying felt they were normal and didnt question at all but that little voice crept inside and said man you could have done way better than that!! I suppose i would be the type of pilot always reaching for perfectionism and things like that really annoy me for ages afterwards coz secretly your trying to impress i suppose! The aircraft is a c172 which i recently started flying again after a long period flying 152 for nearly 4 months weekly! I used to always get great satisfaction out of landing that! i shall set the scene and condition of todays flight! was landing westerly rwy 29 and the wind was 270@13 approach speed was acceptable i thought for conditions 60-65knots with 20degrees flap. normal approaches actually quite low on slope due to higher rpm we have to use on finals against flap drag to run in the new engine, anyway i approached round out height as usual and closed the throttle and allowed the plane to settle but heres where the fun starts float float float!! i then slightly lower the nose and allow it to bleed off as the plane lowers more and slows my natural tendency is to pull back on the stick and increase the angle just before i notice it touches but then it feels like time has stood still until the dreaded bounce just one small one though,i have noticed however that i lose sight of the end of the rwy:bored: during this last flare before touchd